Categories Tags


The aim of the IWS, National Pool Lifeguard Award is to enable a candidate to act as a designated lifeguard, trained in Pool Rescue and Basic Life Support techniques. He/She will also have an awareness of First Aid and Pool Water Analysis. The Pool Lifeguard Award is valid for 2 years and on expiry a revalidation course will need to be completed within a year.  If not revalidated within the year then the full Pool Lifeguard Course will need to be completed again.

Entry Level
  • Preferred Entry Level
  • Rescue 2 Award of Irish Water Safety
  • Minimum Standard Entry Level
  • Be able to swim 100 metres on front (prone) and 100 metres on back (supine).
  • Be able to surface dive and recover an object from the deepest part of the pool.
  • Be 16 years of age, or older, at the time of the examination.
The specification for the qualification is:
  • Unit 1 Basic Life Support 1,2 and 3
  • Unit 2 Lifeguard Skills
  • Unit 3 Pool Operations

National Pool Lifeguard Certification is awarded at either of two levels.

Level 1 certificate are awarded to those who are judged to be competent to supervise swimming pools or sections of a swimming facility, where the water depth does not exceed 1.5m.

Level 2 certificates are awarded to those who are judged to be competent to supervise areas of water in a swimming facility where depths are greater than 1.5m.

One student enrolled
LENGTH5 Lessions
INSTITUTIONIrish Water Safety
SUBJECTLifeguard Course